Reading Aloud to Classes

I never had really thought about being read aloud to in elementary and not junior high or high school. We were expected to read and understand on our own since we were old enough. I was one who enjoyed reading so this was no problem for me to do. I also have always read fast while being able to comprehend what I am reading. I know it doesn’t come as easy to others, and I think if we would have been read aloud to more in school it would have helped them actually enjoy reading. At least maybe they wouldn’t hate it and assume it is torturous.

The memories of the teacher sitting at the front of the classroom and all of us being captured by the story being told by her are all very fond. No one interrupted or goofed off. This was a sacred time for my whole class. 6th grade is the last time I remember being read to by my teacher. We all loved trying to figure out what was going to happen. Imagine taking all that excitement from reading and placing it into a high school classroom. We should read to them books they wouldn’t pick up themselves. One of the blogs we were required to read this week mentioned reading the first book in a series. The students will engage and then go venture out on their own to finish off the series. I thought this was a great idea for engaging students even more and helping them adventure to read more books on their own.

Reading aloud to students allows them to sit back and watch the story unfold in a magical way. If we as teachers change our voices and stop to explain the harder parts to the kids that would normally frustrate them on their own then we are having a victory against another book not being read. Book talks as mentioned in another reading where we explain parts of the book to keep the kids engaged is a great way to introduce the kids into the story and show them different parts of literature. Reading aloud is important and I know I will do it in my classroom.

-C

8 thoughts on “Reading Aloud to Classes

  1. A “sacred time”? Definitely, we were all captured by the story and mesmerized by the narration. No one dared disrupt it, not even the usual suspects. Although I remember one teacher who’d interrupt the reading way too often to explain the obvious.

    Like

  2. I think reading a book aloud can sometimes create interest in a book that the students would not be interested in if they had to read it themselves. Students benefit from being able to ask questions about the story. Great blog post!

    Like

  3. When you envision read-alouds, do the kids have a copy of the book to “follow along”?
    I am like you and honestly cannot remember being read aloud to in school – especially just for fun! I like how you say that read aloud time can be a sacred time. I really think this is true, especially for older students. Awesome thoughts!

    Like

    1. I think if schools could afford it each student following along would be great because then they can see some of the vocabulary and pronunciations. I think it also keeps then focused. If they prefer to just listen that’s okay as long as they are listening! Each kid is different.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great point about how we can change our voice–read slower, faster, do accents, place emphasis in certain places–to help students understand texts that are a little too challenging! What I love about read aloud is that we’re all having a communal reading experience. There is a lot of power in that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

