Cinder Quotation Response Journal

Quotation Response Journal 4/3 Cinder by Marissa Meyer

“Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.” This quote seems important because Marissa is putting together the past fairy tale with her retelling of it in the future. This was the beginning of bringing together Cinderella with Cinder
“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.” I love this quote. Though she is a cyborg, and has a reason to look at herself differently this is something I think most girls/women struggle with today. You look into a mirror and don’t like what you see… how are you supposed to have others like you if you cannot like yourself. This thought does not help anything though. We are all told we are of worth yet there are days where we feel that is not true.
“She was a cyborg, and she would never go to a ball.” This quote is pretty much the point of the entire story, and then how she goes to the ball she swore she wouldn’t go to. This is the twist on the whole story… She is a cyborg, and doesn’t think much of herself as a person because of it.
“Imagine there was a cure, but finding it would cost you everything. It would completely ruin your life. What would you do?” I felt this was a very important question. Though not in these terms it is a question we all have to answer at least once in our lives. It is also important to the story. It causes her to think about how important a cure is compared to the many things she has in life even if she doesn’t notice it herself.

 

5 thoughts on “Cinder Quotation Response Journal

  1. My sister has bullied me and has been abusive into our adult years. Using coping skills from your psychotherapist is the best way to tackle PTSD flare ups when I see her, or she leaves a cruel message telling me how unimportant I am, and I will never finish school because I’m stupid. So I tell myself I am a strong capable woman who is loved and a bright student, I too can feel worthy again and maybe go to a ball.

    Like

  2. Convince me I need to read this book because it keeps popping up and people keep recommending it but I just cannot force myself to read it and some small part of me really does want to read it.

    Like

  3. First, I was SO surprised that I LOVED this book! I mean, I like flipped or twisted fairy tales, but cyborgs – not my thing. Marissa Meyer did a great job and Carlie should REALLY read it. Do it!

    Second, I really like the quotes you chose and the thoughts you shared. I don’t remember myself thinking how this story mirrors our own experiences as women. Yet, how many times have we looked in the mirror and hated what we have seen or try to be something else and hiding our (self-perceived) flaws?
    Awesome response. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

