Writing for the Soul

13983083088_f4fe7e77b8_n
Writing Forever. By Nilufer Gadieva.

For my independent study for my Digital Literacy class I decided to go with creative writing prompts. Though they won’t be just any creative writing prompts, they will be based off of books that are set to help writers learn to write towards a certain book type. I haven’t quite decided which book yet, but I am sure it will be fiction, and more than likely a little sad. Then little by little throughout the semester I am going to write either part of a book, or a short story for a final product of my learning.

The reason I chose this as my learning project is because I have always loved to write. In 9th grade I had over half of a book written, and many other ideas started scattered over many notebooks. I still have all of these tucked away somewhere so I can go back to read them at any time. Reading and writing have always been passions of mine. So to be able to take my love of writing, and reading (about writing) and learn more about it and get better at it seemed like a great option for my project! I of course went to my dad for help when deciding which project to work on. He is the one who told me about the type of book I am reading, and sent me a bunch to go through!

I had thought about learning another language, cooking, or something else, but writing kept gnawing at my brain begging to have more of my time. It is probably for the best too because I have tried learning Spanish and French. I get bored way to quickly and wouldn’t finish the project. I don’t mind cooking, but it isn’t my favorite I thought it would be good just to get me to make supper most nights. My main reason for saying no to this one is all of the dishes (YUCK!) I make enough dishes with my simple meals. I don’t need to add to that mess!

I also chose this because of my major. It in no way is helping me with any of my classes at the moment, but as an English Lit major and Writing minor it only makes sense. I am very excited to be able to work on this project throughout the semester. I have always wanted to write and finish a book so here is my excuse where I cannot give any excuses! Hopefully throughout the semester you all are able to read through my updates, and enjoy what you read.

Thanks!

-C

8 thoughts on “Writing for the Soul

  1. I really like the customized blog! Your formatting flows nicely. I think that this post illustrates just how much you love to write. I think that it is a wonderful idea, especially because you are becoming a teacher. I have not yet decided what my third blog post of the week will be about, or what my chosen project will entail. But I think that you are off to a great start! I wish you luck in your future writings.
    Molly

    Like

  2. Courtney,
    Well I wish I could say the same about writing but… I can’t! I have never been much of a writer especially when it’s promoted on something very specific. You on the other hand seem to be a great writer, even from just reading this blog post. I think it was great that you really thought out other options for your learning project. You thought of the pros and the cons all the way down to dirty dishes… which I absolutely hate too! I must ask before I leave… What was the book you were writing about?
    I always wondered how people could ever find enough words to make a book!

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for the compliment! And dirty dishes are the bane of my existence! The book was just a silly thing a teenager would write about haha. Boy meets girl and they fall in love all that good stuff! Thanks for the question.

    Like

  4. Courtney,
    I think this is such a cool idea! I also love writing, and I think this project will be so fun for you. I don’t have much experience in creative writing. In high school, most of my writing assignments were research papers, so I am not very confident in my creative writing skills even though I am studying literature and am going to be an English teacher. However, I LOVE to read, and I am always drawn to sad stories, so I am very excited to read your updates and eventually your finished project! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

