Passionista!

befunkyphoto
Graphic made with befunky.com

I personally have always been a learner. On my down time I read a lot, and do research on different topics that have crossed my path throughout the week. Going to school it is easy to notice all of the kids who are there because they have no choice. School has become a monotonous part of life. You go because you have to, and slowly your days tick by until graduation.

Passion is not a new concept for most. Everyone has something in their lives they live for. For me it is reading and writing. For some it is cars, math, law, guns, art, etc. The problem lies with how these subjects are taught if they are in schools at all. Passion starts with the teachers teaching them.

In Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach’s post, Passion Based Learning for the 21st Century, she makes a good point, “I know passion-based learning may seem like a crazy kind of term. Some people hear it and think about learning that’s out of control— that it’s all about what students want to do and not about what they need to do.” Truly, it needs to be a balance.

Think back to being in high school, or even elementary school. What was that one subject you just dreaded going to? For me it was math. I cannot stand math. Each year the teachers would show up, and teach us what we needed to know. We would show up, and move on. Finally, in my senior year of high school I had a teacher with a true passion for math. Not quite sure how that is possible, but it was.

You could tell in the way she taught, and helped the students she wasn’t just there for a paycheck. I didn’t dread going to math, and I was able to catch on to what we were learning so much faster than ever before. All because this one teacher had a fire that blew into the minds of her students.

Students do need to learn subjects they may  have no interest in, but if teachers put together a curriculum that incorporates real life, and fun into what they are teacher kids will be more apt to learn. This is where the passion-based learning comes in. If we as teachers take the time to learn about our students and teach in a way they can learn it would make lives so much easier.

This is easier said than done. Another article I looked at this week is 25 Ways to Institute Passion Based Learning in the Classroom by Saga Briggs. It gives 25 great ways for teachers, and even parents to play off of a students passions to help them grow as learners.

 

If half of the teachers implemented passion based learning, and had a passion for what they were teaching there is no doubt in my mind we could create a generation of learners. I truly hope this has brought to light an issue people may not look at with our schooling systems, and I hope we can light a fire to bring learning back!

 

-C

8 thoughts on “Passionista!

  1. Courtney,
    Good post! I can relate with you because I struggled with math for as long as I can remember. I feel like if my teachers in cooperated more material with real life situations I would have more drive to want to learn it and understand it better. Thanks for sharing!
    Haley

    Like

  2. Courtney, I love how you brought up that students will have no interest in certain subjects, but we as teachers need to find ways to get their attention. I think your ideas with incorporating real life into the curriculum, and finding fun ways to teach the materials, will help to get the students attention on the subject. With this technique, the students may find that they do actually like some aspects of the subject that is being taught.

    Like

  3. Courtney,
    I really enjoyed you blog. I had a teacher like the one you mentioned. He also taught math, I overall enjoy math but when it came to geometry I did not know what I was doing. He made me actually want to learn such a dreadful topic.

    Like

    1. I can actually say I didn’t have the luxury for geometry. My first teacher got cancer and left. We had subs the rest of the semester. The one that stayed the longest taught the most. The person they finally hired had been a manager at the buckle. That is the most math she had ever had, and was learning with us. Sufficient to say I didn’t learn much. So the teacher my senior year did a good job playing catch up! (Sorry for the long story!) But thanks for your comment!

      Like

  4. Incorporating subjects to real life is a big area I have noticed that most people comment on. I think that teachers putting forth the effort to really make sure the kids get something out of a class that they will use in the future should be top priority. Unfortunately that gets buried in common core and takes a backseat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

