The Good, The Bad, and The Unintentional

We are a generation lucky to be born into a world with information at our finger tips. I find myself often thinking of how we have research papers so easy compared to when people actually had to read full books for information. We have GPS that literally tells us where to go instead of having to plan a route, and follow a map. We have all of these amazing things, but sometimes it seems they take over. It is so easy to get lost in them, and not think about those around us.

According to a post called Bored…And Brilliant?  they show that, “Many of us reflexively grab our phones at the first hint of boredom throughout the day. And indeed a recent study by the research group Flurry found that mobile consumers now spend an average of 2 hours and 57 minutes each day on mobile devices.” They also mention an app called Moment, it is supposed to track your phone usage in order to make you more aware of what you are doing when you may  not notice it.

I downloaded an app similar to it called QualityTime, it tracks what apps you use when you open your phone, and for how long. They then are able to show how long you spent on a certain app throughout the day. It is currently 9:49 pm, according to the QualityTime app I have spent 3 hours and 33 minutes on my phone. Yikes! Though I am proud to say that over an hour of it was spent on reading a book I bought on my phone.

I think this is where it gets tough for people. Yes, I am still on my phone a lot when I could be doing other things, but it would be the same had I been holding an actual book in my hands. This is the beauty of the app, you can see if you are at least spending your time on things that will build you up, or if you are truly wasting your time. I am not usually good about being mindful on my phone or computer or TV. I really hadn’t thought much of it until this unit, and hope to change some of my habits.

When we are permanently tied to our devices we lose out on pretty much everything. We may be in the know, and up to date on certain things. But, we are completely missing everything around us. As we saw in the TED talk (shown below) there really is a balance that needs to be found. The internet can offer connections to people we may not be able to see any other way, but we also need to be available to those around us. As he gets to the end he mentions his sister telling him his wall is going back up once he is back on the internet. You can tell this meant something to him as I think it should to all of us.

6 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Unintentional

  1. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on this topic, Courtney. I think that you have a very balanced and realistic look on the entire issue. Technology is an incredible resource that helps us do many things with much more ease than in the past. However, if we aren’t careful, it can consume our lives. I would be interested to see how much time I spend on my devices each day and how much of that time spent was productive. How do you think we can address these issues or take action as classroom teachers??

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading your blog Courtney! I think it is very important to see how much time we are spending on our phones and what apps we are spending that time on. I think it is great that most of your time was spend reading a book because that will help you grow! I cannot say the same thing about the time that I spend on my phone, but maybe one day I will be able to change that! I think this is something that is very important for us to teach our future students, especially with how much they use technology in schools.

    Like

    1. I completely agree! Being aware of what you’re doing when you weren’t before is a huge asset in helping use your time better! Hopefully future students will benefit from this knowledge as well. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This week’s module made me realize how much I use my phone throughout the day. One day this week, I was on my phone for over three hours. Needless to say, I didn’t get a lot of homework done on Tuesday. I am hoping that by downloading the Moment app, I will be able to limit my phone usage and be more productive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

